Muse Awards names five recipients

Taymor, Jason Leigh on NY Women's list

New York Women in Film and Television’s 27th annual Muse Awards will fete five femmes at the Dec. 13 luncheon. Honorees include thesp Jennifer Jason Leigh, Bravo prexy Lauren Zalaznick, helmer Julie Taymor and music editor Suzana Peric.

The org’s second Loreen Arbus Award will be presented to producer Gale Anne Hurd for her film work, which includes such heavyweights as “Aliens,” “Terminator 2” and “The Abyss.” The award is named after its presenter, Arbus, the former programming head at both Showtime and Lifetime. Last year’s inaugural Arbus honor went to multihyphenate John Wells.

“We’re looking for someone who has done something that has changed the status of women in the business,” said the org’s exec director Terry Lawler of the Arbus Award.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety