ICG honors short film directors

Pics to premiere Sept. 23 at DGA Theater

The Int. Cinematographers Guild has tapped eight short-film directors of photography as honorees for the ICG Emerging Cinematographers Awards.

The ICG feted the honorees Thursday as the opening event at CineGear at the Wadsworth Theater in Los Angeles. The winners were selected from more than 70 short films submitted and judged by members of ICG through a process of peer review.

The films and cinematographers are: Cherry Bloom,” Brian O’Carroll; “Common Practice,” Christopher Johnson; “Death Strip,” Darren Genet, UCLA Graduate Thesis Film; “Ed Meets His Maker,” Tim Bellen; “History For Kids,” Michael Alba, NYU Undergraduate Tisch School of the Arts; “La Primavera,” Hilda Mercado, UCLA Graduate Thesis Film; “The Morning Fog,” Jozo Zovko, USC Graduate Thesis Award; “Year of the Dog,” Cameron Duncan.

The shorts will be premiered on Sept. 23 at the DGA Theater. The ICG also plans to showcase these films through screenings at film schools and before industry groups in the United States and Europe.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety