Knight, LaGravenese, Kureishi vie in film

Steven Knight (“Amazing Grace”), Richard LaGravenese (“Freedom Writers”) and Hanif Kureishi (“Venus”) have been announced as the feature-film finalists for the 2007 Humanitas Prize.

All in all there are 28 writers named as finalists throughout the eight categories, with total prize money of $145,000 to be divided among the winners.

In the 90-minute TV category that awards $25,000 to the winner, Peter Morgan was tabbed for his work on HBO’s “Longford,” Abi Morgan for the pay cabler’s “Tsunami, the Aftermath” and Nancey Silvers for Lifetime’s “Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy.”

In the 60-minute category, R. Scott Gemmill and David Zabel are nominated for the “ER” episode “There Are No Angels Here,” Doris Egan for the “House” episode “House vs. God,” and Eli Attie and former Humanitas winner John Wells for the “Election Day: Part II” episode of NBC’s “The West Wing.”

On the comedy side, Jennifer Crittenden was selected for her script of the “Oh God, Yes” episode of “The New Adventures of Old Christine,” Bill Callahan for the “Scrubs” episode “My Fallen Idol” and Rob Lotterstein for the “Kenny Doesn’t Live Here Anymore” episode of the Fox sitcom “The War at Home.”

Larry Gelbart was previously announced as the Kieser Award winner, named after Humanitas Prize founder Father Ellwood “Bud” Kieser. The Humanitas Prize recognizes writing that deals with the human experience.

Winners will be selected at a luncheon on June 26 at the Hilton Universal Hotel.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0