Spirit Awards to honor ensemble pic

Film Independent has created the Robert Altman Award to honor one film’s ensemble cast and director as chosen by the Spirit Awards nominating committee. 

Inaugural Altman nod will be presented at next year’s Spirit Awards. 

Org plans to feature a tribute to Altman at the Spirit Awards ceremony on Feb. 24, with an honorary Spirit Award given in recognition of his body of work and contribution to the ensemble genre.  Robert Downey Jr., Elliott Gould, Christopher Guest, Sally Kellerman, Andie MacDowell and John C. Reilly are set to appear.

Film Independent also announced that Dennis Hopper will present a special distinction award to David Lynch and Laura Dern for their collaborative work, and Sharon Stone and Andy Garcia will present filmmaker grants.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0