Austin Film Critics draw ‘Blood’

Paul Thomas Anderson film wins top honors

The Austin Film Critics Association announced its 2007 awards with ‘There Will Be Blood’ sweeping most of the top prizes.

Pic, based on Upton Sinclair’s novel, ‘Oil!,’ took the Best Film honor along with Best Actor (Daniel Day Lewis), Best Director (Paul Thomas Anderson), Best Original Score (Johnny Greenwood from Radiohead), and Best Cinematography (Robert Elswit).

Another formidable winner was the indie darling, ‘Juno,’ which landed Ellen Page the award for Best Actress, her second consecutive with the AFCA (she won for ‘Hard Candy’ in 2006). Diablo Cody, who penned the script, won Best Original Screenplay while Allison Janney took home Best Supporting Actress. Thesp Michael Cera, who also stars in the box office smash, ‘Superbad,’ picked up Breakthrough Artist of the Year honors.

Although not as succsessful as it has been with other end of the year kudos, ‘No Country for Old Men’ walked away with away Best Supporting Actor honors (Javier Bardem), while helmers, the Coen Brothers, were given the Best Adapted Screenplay award for their re-working of the Cormac McCarthy novel.

The Austin Film Award, which is given to the best locally made film, went to ‘Grindhouse’ directors Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez, who is originally from Austin. The duo previously won the award in 2005 for ‘Sin City.’

The complete list of 2007 AFCA winners:

Top Ten:

There Will Be Blood
No Country for Old men
Into the Wild
3:10 to Yuma
Knocked Up
Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead
American Gangster
Eastern Promises

Best Film:
There Will Be Blood

Best Director:
Paul Thomas Anderson, ‘There Will Be Blood’

Best Actor:
Daniel Day Lewis, ‘There Will Be Blood’

Best Actress:
Ellen Page, ‘Juno’

Best Supporting Actor:
Javier Bardem, ‘No Country For Old Men’

Best Supporting Actress:
Allison Janney, Juno

Best Foreign Film:
Black Book

Best Documentary:
The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters

Best Animated Film:

Best First Film:
Ben Affleck, ‘Gone Baby Gone’

Best Original Screenplay:
Diablo Cody, ‘Juno’

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Ethan & Joel Coen, ‘No Country For Old Men’

Best Cinematography:
Robert Elswit, ‘There Will Be Blood’

Best Original Score:
Jonny Greenwood, ‘There Will Be Blood’

Breakthrough Artist:
Michael Cera, ‘Superbad,’ ‘Juno

Austin Film Award:
Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez, ‘Grindhouse’

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety