Academy invites 115 more

List includes recent Oscar nominees, winners

Thesps Jennifer Hudson, Ryan Gosling and Christopher Plummer and directors Paul Greengrass, Antoine Fuqua and Monte Hellman are among the 115 artists and execs who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. This marks the fourth year the org has gone public with its list of invitees.

Scribe branch extended invitations to three recent Oscar victors, Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck (winner of the foreign-language film prize for “The Lives of Others”), William Monahan (“The Departed”) and Michael Arndt (“Little Miss Sunshine”).

Others making the Acad’s shortlist include thesps Jennifer Aniston, Adriana Barraza, Steve Carell, Daniel Craig, Aaron Eckhart, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Maribel Verdu; producers Agustin Almodovar, Jonathan Glickman and Jane Rosenthal; helmers Peter Berg, D.J. Caruso and Simon West; composers Carter Burwell, Alexandre Desplat, Javier Navarrete and Gustavo Santaolalla (winner of back-to-back score Oscars for “Brokeback Mountain” and “Babel”); animators Sharon Calahan and Torill Kove; and docu filmmakers Steve James, James Longley and Brett Morgen.

Academy’s current policies would have allowed for as many as 150 inductees. Overall voting membership has held steady at just under 6,000 members.

New members will be welcomed at a September ceremony at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ invitation list for membership includes:

Jennifer Aniston
Adriana Barraza
Steve Carell
Daniel Craig
Aaron Eckhart
Chiwetel Ejiofor
William Fichtner
Ryan Gosling
Jackie Earle Haley
Jennifer Hudson
Danny Huston
Eddie Murphy
Christopher Plummer
James Rebhorn
Michael Sheen
Maribel Verdu

Sharon Calahan
George Griffin
John Kahrs
Torill Kove
Marcy Page
Troy Saliba

Art Directors
Hugh Bateup

Sam Mercer
Lia Vollack

Casting Directors
Lisa Beach
Leslee Feldman

Javier Aguirresarobe
Steve Gainer
Michael Goi
Michael Grady
Adam Kimmel
Alar Kivilo
M. David Mullen
Xavier Perez Grobet

Costume Designers
Consolata Boyle
Nancy Steiner

Peter Berg
D.J. Caruso
Antoine Fuqua
Paul Greengrass
Monte Hellman
Simon West

Steve James
Nathaniel Kahn
James Longley
Brett Morgen
Laura Poitras
Eric Simonson

Greg Foster
Judd Funk
Adam Goodman
Andrew W. Gumpert
Michael J. Lambert
Yair Landau
David Weil

Film Editors
Sandra Adair
Virginia Katz
Saar Klein
Richard Pearson
Alex Rodriguez
Christopher Rouse

Live-Action Short Films
Borja Cobeaga
Javier Fesser
Ari Sandel

John E. Jackson
David Marti
Montse Ribe
Kazuhiro Tsuji

Carter Burwell
Alexandre Desplat
Javier Navarrete
Gustavo Santaolalla

Agustin Almodovar
Bonnie Arnold
Julia Chasman
Jonathan Glickman
Daniel Goldberg
Jack Rapke
Jane Rosenthal

Production Designers
Eugenio Caballero
Nathan Crowley
Nigel Phelps

Public Relations
Kevin Campbell
Jason Cassidy
Frank J. Chiocchi
Sarah Greenberg
Ileen Reich
Jeff Smith
Valerie Van Galder

Michael J. Benavente
Linda Folk
Jessica Gallavan
Tim Gomillion
Howard London
Steven D. Williams
Jim Wright

Visual Effects
John Andrew Berton Jr.
Al DiSarro
Bryan Hirota
Alan E. Lorimer
Christopher Nibley
Douglas H. Smith
Ben Snow
Eric Swenson
Jon Thum

J.J. Abrams
Michael Arndt
Guillermo Arriaga
Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Patrick Marber
William Monahan
Peter Morgan
Billy Ray
Erin Cressida Wilson

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety