Similarities could cause confusion

Buyers, critics and movie junkies at this year’s Sundance Film Fest — which opens today in Park City — had better make sure they’re in the right theater.

Aside from dealing with jetlag and a shortage of oxygen at that altitude, they have to navigate titles like “Girl 27” and “Chapter 27,” “Ghosts,” “Ghosts of Abu Ghraib” and “Chasing Ghosts,” and a slew of other overlapping monickers, including three films with “Fish” in the title.

“I can already imagine all the conversations and exchanges that festivalgoers will have in lines and on buses, where they think that they saw the same movie,” Sundance Film Fest director Geoffrey Gilmore said.

A sampling of other titles: “Everything Will Be OK,” “It Is Fine! Everything Is Fine,” “Everything’s Cool.”

And “Year of the Dog,” “Year of the Fish,” “For a Swim With the Fish” and “How Is Your Fish Today?”

There are “King,” “King of California.” “Graceland,” “Grace Is Gone” and “Bomb,” “Weapons,” “War Dance,” “Peace Talk.”

And after the 2006 releases of “The Good German,” “The Good Shepherd” and “A Good Year,” Sundance 2007 has “The Good Night” and “The Good Life.”

As far as keeping things straight is concerned, that’s not good.

At Sundance, Gilmore noted there’s also an abundance of one-word movie titles that are a person’s name, including “Sophie,” “William” and “Joshua.” And then there’s “Zidane,” “Zarin” and “Zoo.” There are even two films, one a short and one a feature, with the same name: “Interview.”

Things could get quite confusing for buyers right away, since the opening-night docu is “Chicago 10,” and the fest will also offer “The Ten” and “The Nines.”

Back in Hollywood, studios have been having the same problem of late.

This month, Fox announced it has greenlit James Cameron’s “Avatar,” and on the same afternoon, Paramount confirmed M. Night Shyamalan doing a bigscreen version of the Nick TV toon “Avatar.”

Juries announced

On Wednesday, Sundance announced members of the six juries, made up of 24 people from the global film community, Mos Def, Catherine Hardwicke, Dawn Hudson, Pamela Martin and Sarah Polley sit on the U.S. dramatic competition jury; Alan Berliner, Lewis Erskine, Lauren Greenfield, Julia Reichert and Carlos Sandoval comprise the U.S. docu competition jury.

In the world dramatic competition, jurors are Carlos Bolado, Lynne Ramsay and U-Wei Bin Haji Saari; in the world docu competition, they are Raoul Peck, Juan Carlos Rulfo and Elizabeth Weatherford.

Jared Hess, Daniela Michel and Mark Rosenberg are on the American and international shorts jury.

Darren Aronofsky, Ann Druyan, Dr. Brian Greene, Howard Suber and John Underkoffler are jurors for the Alfred P. Sloan Prize, which honors a film for its outstanding thematic presentation of science and technology.

Films in competition are eligible for dramatic and audience awards. All award winners will be announced Jan. 27.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0