Lineup includes 25 feature films from 22 countries

Fantasy-adventure “The Last Mimzy” from New Line topper Bob Shaye will kick off this year’s Berlinale children’s film sidebar.

The children and youth fest, called Generation, includes 25 feature films from 22 countries and 21 short films from 13 countries.

Shaye, along with the pic’s stars Timothy Hutton, Rhiannon Leigh Wryn and Chris O’Neil, will be on hand for the Generation Kplus international premiere Feb. 9 at Berlin’s Zoo Palast.

Generation 14plus also opens Feb. 9 with Brazilian hip-hop drama “Antonia” from director Tata Amaral, whose international career began at the Berlinale’s Forum section a decade ago with “Um ceu de estrellas” (A Starry Sky).

Mirroring the fest’s other sections, Generation similarly boasts an eclectic selection of works from around the world.

Also screening in the Generation Kplus program is Hungarian director Csaba Bollok’s “Iszka utazasa” (Iska’s Journey), which explores the harsh reality of life for children on the streets, while 14plus is offering Tarsem Singh’s fantasy-drama “The Fall,” which shot on location in 23 countries.

The Berlinale is continuing its local school project to support Berlin teachers and help them integrate Generation films into their lessons.

To mark the section’s 30th anniversary, a DVD entitled Berlinale Generation will be released in the fall by Absolut Medien and Matthias Film. “In this way the most successful films of the past years will be retained for our continually growing audience and that is a special birthday present,” said Generation director Thomas Hailer.

“Bloede Muetze!” (Silly’s Sweet Summer), Johannes Schmid (Germany)
“Dek Hor” (Dorm), Songyos Sugmakanan (Thailand)
“Forortsungar” (Kidz in da Hood), Ylva Gustavsson and Catti Edfeldt (Sweden)
“Ice Keh-ki” (Ice Bar), Yeo In-gwang (South Korea)
“Iszka Utazasa” (Iska’s Journey), Csaba Bollok (Hungary)
“Je m’appelle Elisabeth” (Call Me Elisabeth), Jean-Pierre Ameris (France)
“Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek” (Crusade in Jeans), Ben Sombogaart (Netherlands/Germany/Luxembourg/Belgium)
“The Last Mimzy,” Robert Shaye (U.S.)
“Leiutajatekula Lotte” (Lotte from Gadgetville), Heiki Ernits and Janno Poldma (Estonia/Latvia)
“Mukhsin,” Yasmin Ahmad (Malaysia)
“Razzle Dazzle,” Darren Ashton (Australia)
“Sipur Hatzi Russi” (Love & Dance), Eitan Anner (Israel)
“Trigger,” Gunnar Vikene (Norway/Sweden/Denmark)
“U,” Gregoire Solotareff, Serge Elissalde (France)

“Adama Meshuga’at” (Sweet Mud), Dror Shaul (Israel/Germany/France/Japan)
“Antonia,” Tata Amaral (Brazil)
“Cum miam petrecut sfarsitul lumii” (The Way I Spent the End of the World), Catalin Mitulescu (Romania/France)
“Cheonhajangsa Madonna” (Like a Virgin), Lee Hae-young and Lee Hae-jun (South Korea)
“Eagle vs. Shark,” Taika Waititi (New Zealand)
“The Fall,” Tarsem Singh (U.S./India)
“Man in the Chair,” Michael Schroeder (U.S.)
“TEKKONKINKREET,” Michael Arias (Japan)
“This is England,” Shane Meadows (U.K.)
“Vanaja,” Rajnesh Domalpalli (India/U.S.)
“West,” Daniel Krige (Australia)

“Bennys Gym” (Benny’s Gym), Lisa Marie Gamlen (Norway)
“Blodsostre” (Blood Sisters), Louise N.D. Friedberg (Denmark)
“Camping,” Dana Blankstein (Israel)
“Drengen i kufferten” (Having a Brother), Esben Toft Jacobsen (Denmark)
“Grun” (Green), Kyne Uhlig, Nikolaus Hillebrand (Germany)
“Hawaikii,” Mike Jonathan (New Zealand)
“Itmanna” (Make A Wish), Cherien Dabis (U.S.) “Kibera Kid,” Nathan Collett (Kenya)
“Land gewinnen” (Gaining Ground), Marc Brummund (Germany)
“Menged,” Daniel Taye Workou (Ethiopia/Germany)
“More, strycku, proc je slane?” (The Sea, Uncle, Why Is it Salty?), Jan Balej (Czech Republic)
“Nar Elvis Kom Pa Besok” (When Elvis Came to Visit), Andreas Tibblin (Sweden)
“Pigen i kikkerten” (The Girl through the Telescope), Niels Bisbo (Denmark)
“Pilgiftsgrodorna” (Poison Arrow Frogs), Johan Hagelback (Sweden) “Playground,” Eve Spence (Australia) “Snakebite,” Matt Pinder (U.K.) “Tommy the Kid,” Stuart Clegg (Australia)
“Tri sestry a jeden prsten” (Three Sisters and One Ring), Vlasta Pospisilova (Czech Republic)
“Ville och Vilda Kanin” (Willy and Wild Rabbit), Lennart and Ylva-Li Gustafsson (Sweden)
“Yasin,” Betty Lee Kim (U.S.)
“Zhiharka” (Zhiharka and the Fox), Oleg Uzhinov (Russia)

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0