Organization announces new officers

The American Society of Cinematographers has re-elected Daryn Okada to a second one-year term as president.

Other new officers are VPs Michael Goi, Richard Crudo and Owen Roizman; treasurer Victor J. Kemper; secretary Michael Negrin and sergeant-at-arms John Hora.

Members of the board of governors are Caleb Deschanel, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, William A. Fraker, Francis Kenny, Laszlo Kovacs, Isidore Mankofsky, Robert Primes, Dante Spinotti, Kees Van Oostrum and Haskell Wexler. Alternates are Stephen Lighthill, Matthew Leonetti, Russ Alsobrook and Sol Negrin.

Okada is a native of Los Angeles who was self-taught in cinematography. He began working as a teenager as an unpaid crew member on student films and advanced to working as a gaffer, grip and a camera operator, earning his first feature credit in 1981.

His credits include the “Dawson’s Creek” pilot, “Anna Karenina,” “Cradle 2 the Grave,” “Mean Girls,” “Just Like Heaven” and the “Harold and Kumar” sequel. He’s shooting “Baby Mama.”

There are 290 active members of ASC and 150 associate members.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0