Locarno festival discoveries

Event bestowed awards on now-famous filmmakers

In the early years, the Locarno Film Festival presented awards to well-established helmers, such as John Ford. But looking back over its 60-year history, the fest bestowed kudos on many now-famous international filmmakers who were on their way up. A selection:

1958: Freshman helmer Claude Chabrol wins best director for “Le beau Serge” (“Bitter Reunion”), launching the French New Wave on the international scene.

1959: Stanley Kubrick picks up best director for his second feature, the film noir “Killer’s Kiss” (1955), marking his first major fest award.

1964: “Het Feest” wins best short, directed by a 26-year-old Dutchman named Paul Verhoeven.

1964: The Silver Sail for best first feature goes to “Age of Illusions,” directed by Istvan Szabo.

1972: Mike Leigh’s first feature, “Bleak Moments,” already exhibiting his trademark wrenching yet humorous style, wins top prize.

1983: Spike Lee, 26, receives the Bronze Leopard for his film school thesis featurette “Joe’s Bed-Stuy Barbershop: We Cut Heads.”

1985: Chen Kaige‘s first feature, “Yellow Earth,” with Zhang Yimou as d.p., wins the Silver Leopard, ushering in worldwide status for China’s Fifth Generation filmmakers.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety