Event's 20th edition runs Oct. 20-28

Veteran producer and studio exec Alan Ladd Jr. will be president of the Tokyo Film Festival jury, the fest announced on Thursday.

Other jury members are Montreal World Film Festival general director Serge Losique, film composer Nicola Piovani, Taiwanese scripter-helmer Wu Nien-jen, Japanese thesp Kyoko Kagawa and helmer Yasuo Furuhata.

Producer David Puttnam will receive the Akira Kurosawa Award for career achievement. Puttnam’s association with the Tokyo festival began with its first edition in 1985, when he was president of the competition jury.

“Looking back on my long career, I can honestly say that the week spent chairing the jury at the first Tokyo Intl. Film Festival counts among the most challenging, enjoyable and ultimately satisfying of my entire life,” Puttnam said.

The 20th edition unspools Oct. 20-28.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0