Logo, the Viacom-owned cable net focusing on gays and lesbians, has bought reruns of the first five seasons of Showtime’s lesbian drama “The L Word.”

* * *

Fox Business Network has tapped syndicated radio host Dave Ramsey to host a primetime hour.

“The Dave Ramsey Show,” which has been on the air for 15 years, is carried by 325 radio stations across the country.

On FBN, Ramsey will host a daily hourlong show in primetime focused on personal finance, a theme that meshes with the net’s “Main Street” approach to business news.

* * *

Sirius will relaunch Springsteen-only channel E Street Radio on Sept. 27 at 6 p.m. on Sirius Channel 10. The channel is scheduled to run through March of next year and will feature concert recordings and interviews with Springsteen and the band.

Springsteen’s next album, “Magic,” is slated for release Oct. 2.

E Street Radio ran from 2005-06. Sirius also produces Elvis Radio, the Grateful Dead Channel and other channels devoted to single artists or bands.

* * *

The Loyola Marymount U. School of Film and Television has named Kurt Russell recipient of the 2007 Infinite Power of Story lifetime achievement nod.

Russell’s extensive career includes acting, producing and writing. He’ll be presented with the award at LMU’s Film Outside the Frame Festival Oct. 1 at the Directors Guild of America.

Russell was most recently seen in Quentin Tarantino’s “Grindhouse.”

* * *

Screamfest Horror Film Festival will screen “30 Days of Night” at Grauman’s Chinese Theater on Oct. 16 in advance of the movie’s nationwide release.

Story concerns a vampire invasion on Barrow, Alaska, during the month of darkness the town endures every winter.

“Night” stars Josh Hartnett, Melissa George and Ben Foster.

The seventh annual Screamfest will run Oct. 12-21.

* * *

The Intl. Press Academy (IPA) has tapped actress Kathy Bates to receive the 2007 Mary Pickford Award for artistic contribution to the entertainment industry.

Nod will be presented at the 12th annual Satellite Awards at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills on Dec. 16.

Past recipients of the award include Jodie Foster, Francis Ford Coppola and Susan Sarandon.

* * *

Lloyd Kaufman of Troma Entertainment has been elected to a two-year term as chairman of the Independent Film & Television Alliance.

Kaufman formed Troma in 1974 with partner Michael Herz.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0