AMPAS honors student films

'Nevermore' wins honorary foreign film category

Eleven young filmmakers took home trophies Saturday night at the 34th Annual Student Academy Awards.

Put on by AMPAS, the ceremony honored students from six colleges, including NYU, Stanford, Florida State U. and the School of Visual Arts in New York.

The winner in the honorary foreign film category, Toke Constantin Hebbeln’s “Nevermore,” was singled out from a record 49 entries that represented 33 countries.

The other first-place winners were Kun-I Chang’s “Fission,” Sarah Wickliffe’s “Art’s Desire,” Youngwoong Jang’s “Mirage,” Ben Wu’s “Cross Your Eyes Keep Them Wide” and Patrick Alexander’s “Rundown.”

Past winners include helmers Robert Zemeckis, Spike Lee and John Lasseter.

The event’s red carpet unfolded at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety