Late writer to receive Morgan Cox award

The WGA West has named the late Daryl G. Nickens as the recipient of its Morgan Cox Honorary Service Award.

Nickens, who died in July, will be recognized at the WGA Awards ceremonies on Feb. 11 at the Century Plaza Hotel. Previous recipients include Fay Kanin, Allen Rivkin, Mel Shavelson, Irma Kalish, Ann Marcus, George Kirgo, Del Reisman, Hal Kanter and Frank Pierson.

“This award is the least we can do to show our gratitude for the tireless work Daryl did for our union and its members,” said WGA West president Patric Verrone. “He was loved, and he is missed.”

Nickens served as VP and treasurer of the Writers Guild Foundation, as a trustee of the Writers Guild Health and Pension Fund and on the WGA West board. He also served on a wide variety of guild committees.

Nickens’ feature credits included “House Party 2” and “You Must Remember This.” He was a producer of the PBS series “Life 360”; was part of the creative team for HBO’s “Happily Ever After”; wrote episodes for “The Parkers,” “Viper,” “Benson,” “What’s Happening Now” and “The Famous Jett Jackson”; and was a staff writer on “A Different World,” “227” and “Webster.”

He also taught screenwriting at the USC School of Cinema-Television, as well as in the Guy Alexander Hanks/Marvin Miller Screenwriting Program.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0