Nordisk gives prize purse to duo

Denmark Foundation awards Schonau, Laustsen

COPENHAGEN — The Nordisk Film Foundation distributed cash awards on Tuesday to frosh director Peter Schonau and d.p. Dan Laustsen for their contributions to Denmark’s media environment

Schonau, whose “The Art of Crying” is Denmark’s entry for the foreign-language Oscar, received krone 101,000 ($19,611) while Laustsen received the newly established Erik Balling travel grant of $9,708.

The Foundation has existed in its present form since 1992 when Nordisk Film, now celebrating its 101st year in the biz, became part of the Egmont media conglom. The Foundation set up the prizes in 1996. Previous winners include helmers Lars von Trier and Anders Morgenthaler.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety