Brittany Snow, Elijah Kelley named rising artists

The 2007 Diversity Awards honorees were announced Friday, with awards going to the “High School Musical” crew, “Hairspray” cast and members of other television projects.

“High School Musical 2” helmer Kenny Ortega will be presented with the award for director, comedy or musical; Leonardo DiCaprio’s “The 11th Hour” was named best documentary feature.

Brittany Snow and Elijah Kelley will accept rising artist awards for their performances in “Hairspray.”

Thesps Jon Heder and Idris Elba and actress-producer Mo’Nique will receive renaissance awards.

In the television category, ESPN’s “The Bronx is Burning,” and Bravo’s “Workout,” are honored, along with cast members from “House,” “Shark,” “Passions” and “The Office.”

Winners will be feted at the Multicultural Motion Picture Awards gala Nov. 18 at Universal Studios’ Globe Theater in Hollywood.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0