Directors guild award nominees

Bill Condon
Film: “Dreamgirls”
Team: Patricia Whitcher, unit production manager; Richard Graves, first assistant director; Eric Sherman, second assistant director; Renee Hill-Sweet, second second assistant director
DGA Awards history: First nom

Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris
Film: “Little Miss Sunshine”
Team: Michael Beugg, unit production manager; Thomas Patrick Smith, first assistant director; Gregory Smith, second assistant director; Kate Greenberg, second second assistant director
DGA Awards history: First nom for both

Stephen Frears
Film: “The Queen”
Team: Sue Claverly, production manager; Stuart Renfrew, first assistant director; Rickay Graysmark, second assistant director; Lucy Egerton, third assistant director
DGA Awards history: Frears has one previous nom for TV movie “Fail Safe” in 2000

Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu
Film: “Babel”
Team: Ann Ruark, unit production manager; Sebastian Silva, first assistant director
DGA Awards history: First nom

Martin Scorsese
Film: “The Departed”
Team: Carol Cuddy, unit production manager; Joseph Reidy, first assistant director; Amy Lauritsen, second assistant director; John Silvestri, second second assistant director
DGA Awards history: Seventh nom

Amy Berg, “Deliver Us From Evil,” first nom
Michael Glawogger, “Workingman’s Death,” first nom
James Longley, “Iraq in Fragments,” first nom
Arunas Matelis, “Before Flying Back to the Earth,” first nom
Jean-Henri Meunier, “Ici Najac, a vous la terre,” first nom

Jon Cassar, “24” (7:00 – 8:00AM), Fox, second nom
Peter Horton, “Grey’s Anatomy” (It’s the End of the World As We Know It), ABC, second nom
David Nutter, “The Sopranos” (Join the Club), HBO, first nom
Thomas Schlamme, “Studio 60 Live on the Sunset Strip” (Pilot), NBC, eighth nom
Tim Van Patten, “The Sopranos” (Members Only), HBO, fifth nom

Adam Bernstein, “30 Rock” (Pilot), NBC, first nom
Julian Farino, “Entourage” (One Day in the Valley), HBO, second nom
Seith Mann, “Grey’s Anatomy” (Name of the Game), ABC, first nom
Arlene Sanford, “Boston Legal” (Breast in Show), ABC, second nom
Richard Shepard, “Ugly Betty,” (Pilot), ABC, first nom

Bruce Gowers, “American Idol: Season 5 Finale” (episode Nos. 534/535), Fox, third nom
Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” (Alec Baldwin Hosts), NBC, first nom
Rob Marshall, “Tony Bennett: An American Classic,” NBC, third nom
Chuck O’Neil, “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart,” Comedy Central, fourth nom
Glenn P. Weiss, “The 60th Annual Tony Awards,” CBS, fourth nom

Bobbie Birleffi, “Texas Ranch House” (The Good, the Bad and the Colonel), PBS, first nom
Tony Sacco, “Treasure Hunters” (episode No. 101), NBC, first nom
J. Rupert Thompson, “Fear Factor” (Military Fear Factor, Season Finale), NBC, second nom
Bertram Van Munster, “The Amazing Race” (episode No. 1002), CBS, second nom
Tim Warren, “Pros vs. Joes,” Spike, first nom

Charles S. Dutton, “Sleeper Cell: American Terror” (Home), Showtime, first nom
Randa Haines, “The Ron Clark Story,” TNT, third nom
Walter Hill, “Broken Trail,” AMC, second nom
Peter Markle, “Flight 93,” A&E, first nom
Edward James Olmos, “Walkout,” HBO, first nom

Jill Mitwell, “One Life to Live” (episode No. 9779), ABC, seventh nom
William Ludel, “General Hospital” (episode No. 11177), ABC, fourth nom
Larry Carpenter, “One Life to Live” (episode No. 9686), ABC, fourth nom
Scott McKinsey, “General Hospital” (episode No. 11178), ABC, fifth nom
Casey Childs, “All My Children” (episode No. 9297), ABC, second nom
Ellen Wheeler, “Guiding Light” (episode No. 14832), CBS, second nom
Brian Mertes, “Guiding Light” (episode No. 14905), CBS, third nom

Joyce Chopra, “Molly: An American Girl on the Homefront,” Disney Channel, first nom
Sean McNamara, “Cutting Edge II,” ABC Family, fourth nom
Kenny Ortega, “High School Musical,” Disney Channel, first nom
Fred Savage, “Phil of the Future” (Not So Great Great-Great Grandpa), Disney Channel, first nom
Ron Underwood, “The Year Without Santa Claus,” NBC, first nom

Dante Ariola, MJZ, “Snowball” (Traveler’s Insurance), “First Taste” (Coca Cola), “Human,” (Johnny Walker), fourth nom
Bryan Buckley, Hungry Man, “Animal” (American Express), “Manthem” (Burger King), “More Mayo” (Burger King), third nom
David Gray, Hungry Man, “Transvestite” (Tribeca Film Festival), “Mugger” (Tribeca Film Festival), “Jesus Throws” (Full Tilt Poker), first nom
Tom Kuntz, MJZ, “Fruit Pants” (Altoids), “Trade” (Skittles), “Beard” (Skittles), “Leak” (Skittles), first nom
Joe Pytka, Pytka, “Clydesdales American Dream” (Budweiser), “Preparation” (Disney), “Where Were You” (WTC Memorial), 15th nom

Carl Reiner, Honorary Life Member Award (given in recognition of service to the DGA and outstanding creative achievement)
Paris Barclay and Taylor Hackford, Robert B. Aldrich Service Award (recognizes service to the guild and its membership)
George Paul, Lifetime Achievement Award in News Direction
Terry Benson, Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award (given to an associate director or stage manager in recognition of guild service and career achievement)

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety