BBC satire takes U.K. writers award

'Doctor Who' team among winners

The BBC won two of the seven Writers Guild of Great Britain awards Sunday.

“The Thick of It,” satirizing former Prime Minister Tony Blair’s government, snagged TV comedy/entertainment for its script team of Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell and Tony Roche.

The third series of the BBC’s hit sci-fi skein “Doctor Who” clinched the TV soap/series prize for the writing team of Chris Chibnall, Paul Cornell, Russell T. Davies, Stephen Greenhorn, Steven Moffat, Helen Raynor and Gareth Roberts.

The award for original TV drama went to Neil McKay for “See No Evil: The Moors Murders,” made for ITV1.

Gregory Burke won the play award for his Iraq war drama “Black Watch,” while screenplay kudo was handed to Shane Meadows for “This Is England,” the British film about the skinhead youth cult.

Vidgame script prize went to Dan Houser and Jacob Krarup for “Canis Canem.” Laurel for radio play was picked up by Steve Gooch-McNaughton.

“Harry Potter” author J.K. Rowling was honored for her contribution to children’s writing.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety