Variety's Edwards one of nine members

SYDNEY — The Asia Pacific Screen Awards, an ambitious event for pics from 70 regional countries to be staged Nov. 13 on Australia’s Gold Coast, has unveiled a nine-person nomination council.

The council will create short lists of pics from the region for adjudication by an as-yet-unannounced jury.

Its members are Mohammad Atebbai, managing director of production company Iranian Independents; Philip Cheah, director of the Singapore Film Festival; Anne Demy-Geroe, director of the Brisbane Film Festival; Variety critic Russell Edwards; Kim Hong-Joon, associate professor in the film department at the Korean National U. of Arts; Jeanette-Paulson Hereniko, director of the Hawaii Film Festival; Azize Tan, director of the Istanbul Film Festival; Dr. Stephen Teo, a researcher at the National U. of Singapore; and Aruna Vasudev, founder and president of the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0