Academy elects 14 to board

First-timers are Winkler, Zigmond, Pearce, Fox

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has elected eight new governors to its board, four of them first-timers. Six incumbent governors were reelected to another term on the 43-member board.

New additions to the AMPAS board are Henry Winkler, repping the actors branch; Vilmos Zsigmond, cinematographers; Richard Pearce, documentary; and Charles Fox, music. Returning after a hiatus are Dede Allen, film editors; Curt Behlmer, sound; Richard Edlund, visual effects; and Frank Pierson, writers.

Incumbents reelected are Rosemary Brandenburg, art directors; Curtis Hanson, directors; Jim Gianopulos, execs; Hawk Koch, producers; Marvin Levy, public relations; and Carl Bell, short films and feature animation.

Fourteen of AMPAS’ 15 branches are each represented by three governors who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety