WGA sets board contenders

17 candidates will run for eight open seats

The WGA West nominating committee has tapped 17 candidates to run for eight open seats on the guild’s board of directors.

Only three incumbents — Ron Bass, John Bowman and Aaron Mendelsohn — have opted to seek re-election to another two-year term. Incumbents Ted Elliott, Craig Mazin, Melissa Rosenberg, Alex Sokoloff and Larry Wilmore have chosen not to run.

Remaining candidates include Nancy De Los Santos, Barbara Esensten, Maya Forbes, David Goodman, Mark Gunn, Karen Harris, Warren Hutcherson, Saladin K. Patterson, Dawn Prestwich, Hollis Rich, Jose Rivera, Robin Schiff, Naren Shankur and John Wirth.

Candidates may also run via petition with 25 signatures of current members, due by July 21. The election will be held in September.

Elliott ran for president last year against Patric Verrone, whose Writers United slate swept all 11 open slots for officers and board members.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety