Trio feted by Drama League

LuPone, McAnuff, Seldes honored with annual awards

Patti LuPone, Des McAnuff and Marian Seldes will receive the three annual specialty awards at the Drama League this year.

LuPone, on Broadway in Stephen Sondheim’s “Sweeney Todd,” will be given the award for distinguished achievement in musical theater. Sondheim will be on hand to present it.

McAnuff, helmer of “Jersey Boys,” will get the award for excellence in directing from Aaron Sorkin (“The West Wing”).

And Seldes will be honored for unique contribution to the theater with a trophy given by scribe Terrence McNally. Seldes starred in McNally’s recent Gotham outing “Dedication or the Stuff of Dreams” opposite Nathan Lane.

The Drama League ceremony and lunch, hosted by Alan Cumming, will be held May 5.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety