Tony board taps trio

Gleason, Hwang, Viola added to nom committee

Thesp Joanna Gleason, scribe David Henry Hwang and Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS prexy Tom Viola are among additions to the 25-member nominating committee for the Tony Awards.

They join a roster of nominators for the Broadway kudos that includes lyricist Susan Birkenhead, New Dramatists a.d. Todd London, thesp Brian Stokes Mitchell and playwright Lynn Nottage.

Committee members serve a three-year term, with about one-third of the group members beginning their terms each year.

Other new members include Joe Benincasa, exec director of the Actor’s Fund of America, and producer-dramaturg John Dias.

Hwang was skedded to be a member of the committee last season until “Tarzan,” the Disney tuner for which he wrote the book, locked in a slot on the season’s slate and Hwang recused himself to avoid a conflict of interest.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety