Scribes feel Lortel’s love

Honorees were chosen based on excellence of work, future promise, commitment to legit

Inaugurating its new playwrights’ fellowship program, the Lucille Lortel Foundation has handed out $50,000 to each of eight Gotham scribes.

Recipients are Melissa James Gibson (“[sic]”), David Greenspan (“She Stoops to Comedy”), Jessica Hagedorn (“Dogeaters”), Julia Jordan (“St. Scarlet”), Lisa Kron (“Well”), Lynn Nottage (“Intimate Apparel”), Dael Orlandersmith (“Yellowman”) and Adam Rapp (“Red Light Winter”).

Competition is limited to residents of the tristate area, and honorees were chosen based on excellence of past work, promise of future greatness and commitment to legit. Scribes can use the money however they want.

A panel that included Atlantic Theater a.d. Neil Pepe, Lincoln Center Theater dramaturg Anne Cataneo and scribes Paula Vogel and David Henry Hwang made the final selections from a pool of applicants.

The Lortel Foundation, endowed by the late philanthropist for whom an Off Broadway house is named, supports small-to-midsize theater companies and other orgs in the theatrical community.

New fellowship will be awarded every two years.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety