Students take Oscar home

Filmmakers-to-be honored by Academy

Thirteen students from nine institutions were honored Saturday at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ 33rd annual Student Academy Awards.

Director Kevin Smith, thesp Nia Vardalos and Acad prexy Sid Ganis handed out the awards at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Students received gold, silver and bronze medals, which corresponded to awards of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000.

Top honors in the narrative category went to Sean Overbeeke from the U. of North Carolina for “Christmas Wish List.” Carrie Lozano from UC Berkeley won for her documentary “Reporter Zero.” In animation, Chris Choy from the California Institute of the Arts won for “The Possum.” Top alternative honors went to Travis Hatfield and Samuel Day of Ball State U. for “Perspective.”

An honorary foreign student film award went to Tristan Holmes of the South African School of Motion Picture Medium and Live Performance for “Elalini.”

Past winner of the student competish, established in 1972, include Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis, John Lasseter and Trey Parker.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety