KenCen taps class

Spielberg, Lloyd Webber, Parton among honorees

WASHINGTON — Steven Spielberg, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Dolly Parton, Smokey Robinson and conductor Zubin Mehta have been selected to receive this year’s Kennedy Center Honors, the center said Wednesday.

They will receive the lifetime recognition at a D.C. gala on Dec. 3, with CBS to broadcast the event later.

The gala will again be produced by George Stevens Jr., who created the program in 1978 with Nick Vanoff.

Kennedy Center chairman Stephen A. Schwarzman said the five artists “have transformed the culture of our country and of the world.”The honorees are selected by the center’s board of trustees from recommendations submitted by an artists committee and past recipients. This year’s quintet is one of the few in the event’s 29-year history that does not include an actor.

Revenues from the honors program help support numerous performing arts initiatives, education and public service programming, and national outreach efforts, according to KenCen prexy Michael Kaiser.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0


    Leave a Reply

    No Comments

    Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    More Film News from Variety