Human rights fest fetes pix

'Miguel' earns Sergio Vieira De Mello Prize

BERLIN — This year’s Intl. Film Festival on Human Rights has conferred the Sergio Vieira De Mello Prize on “Miguel: Ne Terren,” by Enric Miro and Luis Jene.

Jury, consisting of Nobel Peace Prize 2003 winner Shirin Ebadi, Lebanese filmmaker Danielle Arbid, Chilean scribe-thesp Ariel Dorfman, thesp William Hurt and publisher Hubert Nyssen, awarded the World Organization Against Torture Prize to Virayan Kodoth’s “Journeys.”

Fest, which saw its third outing in the Swiss city of Geneva, also awarded distinctions to “Liberia: An Uncivil War,” by Jonathan Stack, and “Shamed,” by Jane Corbin. Both unspooled in the Free Alternative Platform sidebar.

Junior Jury Prize went to “Miguel: Ne Terren,” with special distinction to “L’Accord,” by Nicolas Wadimoff and Beatrice Guelpa.

Fest is associated with Human Rights Watch, the U. of Geneva, the Intl. Committee of the Red Cross, the World Organization Against Torture, Amnesty Intl., the Intl. Federation for Human Rights and various filmmakers’ associations.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety