Stern, Maltin, Michaels, Roth to select winners

The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation has announced the five finalists for its 2006 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Competition. The finalists, who submitted feature-length screenplays, were chosen from a field of over 100 submissions from eight University of California campuses. 

Finalists are Don Cabreana (UCB) for “Behind Hope,” Andrew Cypiot (UCLA) for “Flying Start,” Brian A. Larsen (UCLA) for “Burning Down Phoenix,” Angela Mrema (UCLA) for “The Sisters Crofton” and Nick Paston (UCSB) got “The White Zebra.”

Winners will be selected by writer-director-producer Leonard Stern, film critic Leonard Maltin, producer Lorne Michaels, and former Goldwyn Award winner, screenwriter Eric Roth. Awards ceremony will be held Oct. 30 at UCLA. Each of the finalists will receive a cash prize; first place comes with $15,000.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0