Dramas look good to ASC

'Geisha,' 'Good Night,' 'Batman' draw lenser noms

The American Society of Cinematographers has opted for dramas spanning themes of exotic romance, the early days of TV, fantasy and crime-fighting in selecting nominees for its ASC feature film award.

Nominations, announced Wednesday, went to Dion Beebe for “Memoirs of a Geisha,” Robert Elswit for “Good Night, and Good Luck,” Andrew Lesnie for “King Kong,” Wally Pfister for “Batman Begins” and Rodrigo Prieto for “Brokeback Mountain.”

Winner will be named at the ASC’s 20th annual awards ceremonyFeb. 26 at the Century Plaza.

Elswit and Pfister are first-time nominees, while it’s the third ASC nod for Lesnie, who was also nommed for “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” and “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.” Prieto was nominated for “Frida” in 2003 and Beebe was tapped for “Collateral” last year.

Five of the past 10 ASC winners took home Oscars, with the last match coming in 2003 for the late Conrad Hall on “Road to Perdition.” The ASC presented its kudos last year to Bruno Delbonnel for “A Very Long Engagement” while the Oscar went to Robert Richardson for “The Aviator.”

Lesnie won the Oscar in 2002 for “The Fellowship of the Ring” while Roger Deakins won the ASC trophy for “The Man Who Wasn’t There.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety