Crix pick ‘Capote’

Nat'l crix org salutes Hoffman

See Winners

The National Society of Film Critics tipped its cap to “Capote” over the weekend, honoring the United Artists pic as top film of the year.

Pic also won the actor nod for Philip Seymour Hoffman.

The NSFC announces its top three in each category, and “Capote” edged out “A History of Violence” and “2046” to take top honors.

The actress prize went to Reese Witherspoon (“Walk the Line”), the supporting actor nod went to Ed Harris (“A History of Violence”) and supporting actress went to Amy Adams (“Junebug”).

“Violence” helmer David Cronenberg copped the director nod, while “The Squid and the Whale” won the screenplay prize for writer-helmer Noah Baumbauch.

Org also gave special awards, including a citation to Los Angeles Times critic Kenneth Turan and the Film Heritage award to “Unseen Cinema,” a seven-disc DVD collection of pre-1942 American avant garde movies.

And the winners are…




BEST DIRECTOR: David Cronenberg, “A History of Violence”

BEST SCREENPLAY: Noah Baumbach, “The Squid and the Whale”

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Christopher Doyle, Kwan Pun-leung, Lai Yiu-fai, “2046”

BEST ACTOR: Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Capote”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Ed Harris, “A History of Violence”

BEST ACTRESS: Reese Witherspoon “Walk the Line”


Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety