ACE highlight reel

Editors make voice heard via noms

The American Cinema Editors have tapped 10 films as nominees in two feature categories for the org’s 56th annual ACE Eddie Awards.

The winners will be announced Feb. 19 at the Beverly Hilton.

In dramatic feature, the editors nominated Geraldine Peroni & Dylan Tichenor for Focus Features’ “Brokeback Mountain,” Claire Simpson for Focus’ “The Constant Gardener,” Hughes Winborne for Lionsgate’s “Crash,” Stephen Mirrione for Warner Independent’s “Good Night, and Good Luck” and Michael Kahn for Universal’s “Munich.”

Noms for comedy or musical feature went to Chris Lebenzon for Warner Bros.’ “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,” Jeffrey Ford for Fox’s “The Family Stone,” Paul Tothill for Focus’ “Pride & Prejudice,” Mark Livolsi for New Line’s “Wedding Crashers” and Michael McCusker for Fox’s “Walk the Line.”

ACE documentary nominations went to Joe Bini for Lionsgate’s “Grizzly Man”; Michael Sheridan, Jack Tucker, Patrea Patrick and Fred Roth for Warner Home Video’s “James Dean: Forever Young”; and Sabine Emiliani for Warner Independent’s “March of the Penguins.”

Drawing noms for half-hour TV series were Stuart Bass for Fox’s “Arrested Development,” Steven Rasch for HBO’s “Curb Your Enthusiasm” and Janet Ashikaga for NBC’s “My Name Is Earl.”

Mentions for miniseries or telepic for noncommercial TV went to Brian Kates for HBO’s “Lackawanna Blues,” Jeff Freeman for Showtime’s “Reefer Madness: The Movie Musical” and Michael Brown for HBO’s “Warm Springs.” Noms for miniseries/telepic for commercial TV went to Michael Berenbaum for ESPN’s “Code Breakers,” Michael Ornstein for ESPN’s “Four Minutes” and Peter Frank for ABC’s “Their Eyes Were Watching God.”

Receiving nominations for one-hour series for noncommercial TV were David J. Siegel for HBO’s “Carnivale,” Stephen Mark for HBO’s “Deadwood” and Michael Ruscio for HBO’s “Six Feet Under.” Noms for one-hour series for commercial TV went to Chris Willingham for Fox’s “24,” Phil Neel for ABC’s “Boston Legal,” Stephen Semel for ABC’s “Lost” and Mark Helfrich for Fox’s “Prison Break.”

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety