Okada tapped ASC prexy

Cinematographers group find new topper

The American Society of Cinematographers has tapped Daryn Okada as president.

Okada has over 40 credits, including “Lake Placid,” “Dr. Dolittle 2,” and “Mean Girls.”

Okada was nommed for an ASC Award for the miniseries “In a Child’s Name.” He’s currently shooting the independent feature “Sex and Death 101.”

“The art of filmmaking and the evolution of new visual technologies have been inseparably linked from the earliest days of the industry,” Okada said. “Our goal is to help assure that the evolution of technology serves the cinematic arts.”

The ASC’s other offices include VPs Michael Goi, William A. Fraker and Caleb Deschanel; treasurer Victor J. Kemper; secretary Michael Negrin; and sergeant at arms John Hora.

The organization’s new board of governors also includes Curtis Clark, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, Francis Kenny, Isidore Mankofsky, Woody Omens, Nancy Schreiber, John Toll, Kees Van Oostrum, Rooy Wagner and Haskell Wexler.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety