Helmers chosen for Un Certain Regard, Camera d'Or posts

Director Monte Hellman will head the jury of the 59th Cannes Film Festival’s Un Certain Regard section, while Belgian helming duo Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne will lead the jury for the Camera d’Or.

The jury for Un Certain Regard, which this year favors tyro helmers, will comprise Iranian author Marjane Satrapi; American journalist Laura Winters; Italo journo Maurizio Cabona; Gallic journo Jean-Pierre Lavoignat; and German journalist Lars-Olav Beier.

The Un Certain Regard — Gan Foundation prize, along with two other prizes for the section, will be awarded at fest’s closing ceremony May 27.

The jury for Camera d’Or kudo, which is bestowed on the best first film from the official competition, Intl. Critics’ Week or Directors Fortnight, jury will comprise: French director Jean-Paul Salome; Brazilian critic Luiz Carlos Merten; Frederic Maire, the director of the Locarno Festival; Gallic cinematographer Jean-Louis Vialard; French critic Alain Riou; Toulouse Cinematheque director Natacha Laurent; and French technician Jean-Pierre Neyrac.

Fest officials also announced that, as part of the out of competition official selection, the fest will hold a special screening of “Clerks 2” by Kevin Smith, on May 26.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0