Acad names Nicholl fellows

Five recipients pooled from 4,800 applicants

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the five 2006 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting recipients, pooled from more than 4,800 initial applicants.

The winners are Arthur M. Jolly (“The Free Republic of Bobistan”), Stephanie Lord (“Palau Rain”), Josh D. Schorr (“10-Day Contract”), Scott K. Simonsen (“Tides of Summer”) and Alfred E. Carpenter and Mark A. Matusof (“38 Mercury”).

Each will receive the first installment of the accompanying $30,000 prize at a gala dinner Nov. 16 in Beverly Hills.

Final judging of the competition was conducted by the Nicholl Committee, chaired by writer and 1992 Nicholl fellow Susannah Grant and comprising writers Naomi Foner, Fay Kanin, Hal Kanter and Dan Petrie Jr.; cinematographers John Bailey and Steven Poster; editor Mia Goldman; thesp Eva Marie Saint; executive Bill Mechanic; producers Gale Anne Hurd, David Nicksay, Bob Shapiro and Buffy Shutt; and agent Ron Mardigian.

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year. This is the fourth consecutive year that a script written by a team earned its writers a fellowship; collaborative efforts were first allowed into the competition in 2001.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety