Writers Guild admires MTR

Museum honored with Burkey Award

The Writers Guild of America East will bestow its Evelyn F. Burkey Award upon the Museum of Television & Radio at the WGA’s 58th annual awards ceremony Feb. 4 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York.

The museum is a “perfect choice for the WGAE’s Burkey Award because it showcases the exemplary work of writers in the broadcast arena and makes their work available to everyone long after their shows have left the airwaves,” said WGA East prexy Chris Albers.

Since opening in 1976, the museum has organized events at its Gotham and Los Angeles venues to showcase its collection of more than 120,000 TV and radio programs and advertisements.

The Burkey Award was established in 1978 to honor Evelyn F. Burkey, who worked in the creation of the WGA East in 1953 and served as exec director until her retirement in 1972.

Past recipients include Martin Scorsese, Sidney Lumet, Arthur Miller, Art Buchwald, Horton Foote, Andy Rooney and Walter Cronkite.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety