USC taps script finalists

Winkler, Kanter will host Feb. 11 event

“Brokeback Mountain,” “Capote,” “The Constant Gardener,” “A History of Violence” and “Syriana” have received nominations for USC’s Scripter Award.

The kudo recognizes both the writer of the film adaptation and the author of a book, novella or short story. The Scripter committee considered 47 eligible films released in 2005 and will announce the winner on Friday.

Finalists for the award: “Brokeback Mountain,” Annie Proulx, author, and Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, screenwriters; “Capote,” Gerald Clarke, author, and Dan Futterman, screenwriter; “The Constant Gardener,” John le Carre, author, and Jeffrey Caine, screenwriter; “A History of Violence,” John Wagner and Vince Locke, authors, and Josh Olson, screenwriter; and “Syriana,” Robert Baer (“See No Evil”), author, and Stephen Gaghan, screenwriter.

The winning collaboration will be feted Feb. 11 at USC’s Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Henry Winkler and Hal Kanter will host.

Recent Scripter winners include “Million Dollar Baby,” “The Hours,” “A Beautiful Mind,” “L.A. Confidential,” “The English Patient” and “Schindler’s List.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety