UCLA scribes get Goldwyns

Cypiot, Larsen tie for top prize

Andrew Cypiot and Brian Larsen have tied for first prize in the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards for their screenplays “Flying Start” and “Burning Down Phoenix,” respectively.

Both winners are grad students in screenwriting at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television. Each will receive $15,000.

The annual kudos for excellence in dramatic writing were announced Monday by Samuel Goldwyn Jr., president of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, during a ceremony at UCLA. Contest, now in its 51st year, drew 120 feature-length screenplay submissions from students at eight U. of California campuses.

Other Goldwyn winners: Angela Mrema, a graduate student in directing at UCLA; Don Cabreana, an undergraduate in English, theater and performance at UC Berkeley; and Nick Pasto, an undergrad in biopsychology at UC Santa Barbara.

The judges included screenwriter Eric Roth, producer Lorne Michaels, film critic Leonard Maltin and writer-director-producer Leonard Stern. Besides Roth, previous winners include Allison Anders, Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins and novelist Jonathan Kellerman.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety