Pic palette for art directors’ kudos

'Geisha,' 'Jarhead,' 'Syriana' among nominees

“Walk the Line,” “King Kong” and “Batman Begins” are among the pics up for Art Directors Guild awards, to be handed out Feb. 11 at the Beverly Hilton.

Nominations in the period/fantasy category went to Nathan Crowley (“Batman Begins”), Alex McDowell (“Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”), Jim Bissell (“Good Night, and Good Luck”), Grant Major (“King Kong”) and John Myhre (“Memoirs of a Geisha”).

Noms in the contemporary category went to Mark Tildesley (“The Constant Gardener”), Laurence Bennett (“Crash”), Dennis Gassner (“Jarhead”), Dan Weil (“Syriana”) and David J. Bomba (“Walk the Line”).

Major’s been nominated for art directing Oscars for each entry in “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy, winning for “The Return of the King.” Myhre was nommed for “Elizabeth” and won for “Chicago” while Gassner was nommed for “Barton Fink” and “The Road to Perdition” and won for “Bugsy.”

John Shaffner took three nominations in TV categories, scoring mentions for “Two and a Half Men” and “The War at Home” in multiple camera series and sharing a nom with Joe Stewart in the awards show/variety/music special/documentary category.

Other noms in multiple camera went to Stephen Olson for CBS’ “How I Met Your Mother,” John Sabato for Fox’s “Mad TV” and Glenda Rovello for NBC’s “Will & Grace.”

Nominations for single-camera series went to Maria Caso of HBO’s “Deadwood,” Thomas A. Walsh for ABC’s “Desperate Housewives,” Richard Toyon for NBC’s “Las Vegas,” Jim Spencer for ABC’s “Lost” and Joseph Bennett for HBO’s “Rome.”

Miniseries/telepic noms went to Stuart Wurtzel for HBO’s “Empire Falls,” Marek Dobrowolski for TNT’s “Into the West,” Clark Hunter for CBS’ “The Magic of Ordinary Days” and Sarah Knowles for HBO’s “Warm Springs.”

Other nominees in the awards/variety/docu category included Bruce Ryan for TBS’ “Earth to America,” Roy Christopher for ABC’s “77th Annual Academy Awards,” Rene Lagler for CBS’ “39th Annual Country Music Awards” and Renee Hoss-Johnson for “Wheel of Fortune.”

In the commercial/promo/PSA category, two noms went to Sean Hargraves for AARP and UPS spots. Other mentions went to Michael Gaw for AFLAC, Jeremy Reed for Bud Light and Jeffrey Beecroft for DHL.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety