Humanitas announces noms

'Narnia,' 'Crash,' 'Glory' scribes among finalists

See Nominees

Scribes for “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,” “Crash” and “Glory Road” are among the finalists for the 2006 Humanitas Prize.

Thirty-three writers in eight film and television categories will vie for $145,000 in prize money at an awards luncheon June 28 at the Hilton Universal Hotel. Colin Callender, president of HBO Films, will receive the 2006 Kieser Award and serve as keynote speaker for the event.

Fox’s “House” will face off against NBC’s “ER” and “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” in the 60-minute TV drama category.

In the 30-minute TV comedy category, NBC’s “Scrubs” and “My Name Is Earl” both scored noms, as did ABC’s “George Lopez.”

The Humanitas Prize was founded in 1974 to honor excellence in television and film writing and recognize writers who positively portray the human experience. Past winners include Aaron Sorkin, Tim Robbins and Barbara Hall.

And the nominees are…

Feature Film ($25,000)
“The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe” – screenplay by Ann Peacock, Andrew Adamson, Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely (Walt Disney Pictures)
“Crash” – screenplay by Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco, story by Paul Haggis (Lions Gate Films)
“Glory Road” – written by Christopher Cleveland and Bettina Gilois (Walt Disney Pictures)

90-Minute ($25,000)
“The Colt” – screenplay by Stephen Harrigan (Hallmark Channel)
“The Girl In The Cafe” – written by Richard Curtis (HBO)
“Warm Springs” – written by Margaret Nagle (HBO)

60-Minute ($15,000)
“ER” (“Darfur”) – written by Janine Sherman Barrois (NBC)
“House” (“Three Stories”) – written by David Shore (Fox)
“Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” (“Ripped”) – written by Jonathan Greene (NBC)

30-Minute ($10,000)
“George Lopez” (“The Kidney Stays in the Picture”) – written by Jim Hope (ABC)
“My Name Is Earl” (pilot) – written by Greg Garcia (NBC)
“Scrubs” (“My Way Home”) – written by Garrett Donovan and Neil Goldman (NBC)

Children’s Animation ($25,000)
“Maya & Miguel” (“Miguel’s Wonderful Life”) – written by Jonathan Greenberg (PBS)
“Miss Spider’s Sunny Patch Friends” (“A Froggy Day in Sunny Patch”) – written by Alice Prodanou, Michael Stokes, Steven Sullivan, story by Steven Sullivan (Nick Jr.)
“Toddworld” (“Benny’s Missing Chew Toy”) – written by Pamela Hickey and Dennys McCoy (Discovery Kids/TLC)

Children’s Live Action ($25,000)
“Edge Of America” – written by Willy Holtzman (Showtime)
“Felicity: An American Girl Adventure” – teleplay by Anna Sandor (WB Network)
“High School Musical” – written by Peter Barsocchini (Disney Channel)

Sundance Feature Film ($10,000)
“Punching At The Sun” – written by Tanuj Chopra and Hart Eddy
“Quinceanera” – written by Richard Glatzer and Wash Westmoreland (Sony Pictures Classics)
“Wristcutters: A Love Story” – written by Goran Dukic

The David & Lynn Angell Fellowship in Comedy Writing ($10,000)
Colin Marshall – Columbia U., Graduate Writing Program, spec script for “My Name Is Earl” (“My Name Is Santa”)

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety