Hoffman, Witherspoon, Rourke win acting kudos

David Cronenberg’s “A History of Violence” took top honors in the 9th annual Online Film Critics Society Awards.

Mob drama captured nods for picture, director and supporting actress Maria Bello.

Globe winners Philip Seymour Hoffman and Reese Witherspoon nabbed actor and actress kudos while Mickey Rourke garnered the supporting actor nod for “Sin City.”

The pic’s Robert Rodriguez won cinematography and editing nods.

“Brokeback Mountain” didn’t go empty-handed though; pic took adapted screenplay for Larry McMurty and Diana Ossana and score for Gustavo Santaolalla.

George Clooney and Grant Heslov snagged original screenplay for “Good Night and Good Luck,” Werner Herzog’s “Grizzly Man” won for docu, Germany’s ‘Downfall” took foreign-language film, and “Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit” snared animated feature.

Paul Haggis won for breakthrough filmmaker for “Crash” and Owen Kline nabbed breakthrough performance for his role in “The Squid and the Whale.”

The voting was done by a 138-member international professional association of Internet-based cinema journalists.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0