Eugene O’Neill

Scribes and songsmiths

O’Neill won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1936. By then he had written “Mourning Becomes Electra,” “Strange Interlude,” “Desire Under the Elms,” “Anna Christie,” “The Emperor Jones” and “Beyond the Horizon,” which brought him his first of four Pulitzer Prizes, in 1920. Unlike most Broadway dramas written in the ’20s and ’30s, several of O’Neill’s continue to be staged today. Much of his finest work, however, was not staged until after his death, in 1953, including “A Touch of the Poet,” “A Moon for the Misbegotten” and his masterpiece, “Long Day’s Journey Into Night.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Scene News from Variety