Rhythm & Soul Music Awards honors industry's best

Alicia Keys and Jermaine Dupri were named songwriters of the year at the 2005 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards, held Monday at the Beverly Hilton.

EMI Music Publishing nabbed publisher of the year honors.

Keys also received the R&B/hip-hop song trophy for “If I Ain’t Got You” while Terror Squad’s “Lean Back,” written by Remy Ma and Scott Storch, was deemed rap song of the year.

Soundtrack song went to “Runnin’ (Dying to Live)” from “Tupac: Resurrection” by Tupac featuring the Notorious B.I.G.

“In Da Club,” written by 50 Cent, Dr. Dre and Mike Elizondo, chimed in as top ringtone.

Smokie Norful and Sean Paul were named top gospel and reggae artists, respectively, of 2004. The gospel and ringtone awards were new this year.

The rhythm & soul heritage award went to Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis.

Other songwriters who received kudos were Lauryn Hill, Usher, J-Bo, RobMac, Krucial, Jay-Z, Timbaland, Petey Pablo, C.O., La Marquis Jefferson, Ciara, Sean Garrett, LL Cool J, Cassidy, Swizz Beatz, Chauncey “Loon” Hawkins, Lo Deezy, Erick Sermon, Parrish Smith, Rhymefest, Akon, Beyonce, Robert “EST” Waller, Manuel L. Seal, Adonis Shropshire, El DeBarge, William DeBarge, Bunny DeBarge, Nelly, Chingy, Alonzo Lee Jr., Vice, Twista, Antonio Dixon, Ronnie Jackson, Harvey Mason Jr., Damon Thomas, Ludacris, Larry Mizell, Big Boi, J-Kwon, Joe “Capo” Kent, Mark “Tarboy” Williams, Brandon Casey, Brian Casey, Havoc and Jadakiss.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0