Tony puts finishing touches on noms

Committee determines who's eligible for what

NEW YORK — After its fourth and final meeting of the Broadway season, the Tony Awards administration committee announced who was eligible in which categories.

It is now up to the nominating committee to meet over the weekend and compile its choices.

The Tony nominees are announced Tuesday.

Everybody isn’t happy. Jeffrey Richards, lead producer of the “Glengarry Glen Ross” revival, objected to Alan Alda being deemed eligible in the category of featured actor in a play, along with the show’s entire cast.

“Alan Alda has the most stage time in this production. He has been a star on Broadway for over 40 years. His is the leading role,” said Richards, referring to the part of real-estate agent Shelly Levene.

When the David Mamet play debuted on Broadway in 1984, Joe Mantegna and Robert Prosky were nominated in the featured actor category. In the current revival, Liev Schreiber and Alda play those roles. Mantegna went on to win the Tony for his portrayal of ruthless Realtor Richard Roma.

Richards discounted that precedent, referring to four instances where a role was shifted from featured in the original production to lead in the revival. He cited the example of “Cabaret” starring Alan Cumming, who won as lead actor as the Emcee in 1998; the role’s originator, Joel Grey, won as featured actor in 1967.

“We are surprised to learn that we cannot make an appeal,” said Richards.

Stars in their eyes

Elsewhere, the Tony administration committee appeared to be a little star-struck over actors with TV and movie pedigree. In a previous meeting, it made supporting player David Hyde Pierce, from “Spamalot,” eligible in the lead actor in a musical category.

This time around, the committee deemed supporting player Jeff Goldblum, from “The Pillowman,” eligible for lead actor in a play.

Other eligibility decisions:

All thesps from “Steel Magnolias” will be eligible in the featured actress category.

Although Cheyenne Jackson and Jenn Gambatese are credited below the “All Shook Up” title, the committee has made them eligible in the lead categories, as it did Victoria Clark from “The Light in the Piazza.” Denis O’Hare, credited below the “Sweet Charity” title, will stay there: He is eligible as a featured actor in a musical.

One play might end up competing against the musicals for the score award. The committee deemed “The Pillowman,” with music by Paddy Cunneen, eligible for original score.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Legit News from Variety