Nicholl finalists named

Recent features penned by fellows include 'Ring Two,' 'Brothers Grimm'

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has announced 10 finalists for the 2005 Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting.

As many as five finalists may go on to win individual $30,000 fellowships, which recipients are expected to use to produce a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year.

Finalists were chosen from 5,879 submissions.

The Nicholl Committee will be chaired by 1992 Nicholl Fellow Susannah Grant and includes writers John Gay, Fay Kanin and Hal Kanter; cinematographers John Baily and Steven Poster; editor Mia Goldman; thesp Eva Marie Saint; exec Bill Mechanic; producers Gale Anne Hurd, David Nicksay and Buffy Shutt; and agent Ron Mardigian.

Recent features penned by Nicholl fellows include 1996 fellow Ehren Kruger’s “The Ring Two,” “The Skeleton Key” and “The Brothers Grimm” and Grant’s “In Her Shoes” and “Erin Brockovich.”

This year’s finalists are “Masterpiece,” Shannon Elizabeth Slater, Somerset, U.K.; “Chalk,” Weiko Lin, Los Angeles; “The Days Between,” Morgan Read-Davidson, Downey, Calif.; “Dogwoods,” Robert Zameroski, Stevenson Ranch, Calif.; “Fire in a Coal Mine,” Seth Resnik, West Hollywood, and Ron Moskovitz, Los Angeles; “Pirates of Lesser Providence,” Colleen Cooper De Maio, Los Angeles; “Ring of Fire,” Gian Marco Masoni, Santa Monica; “Sane,” Robin Brown, Santa Monica; “No Country,” Michael D. Zungalo, Philadelphia; and “The Last Wish Girl” Lauren Sheppard, Austin, Texas.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety