You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

L.A. crix ride with ‘Brokeback’

Lee's 'Mountain' picks up trophies for best pic, director

See Winners

The Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. on Saturday named “Brokeback Mountain,” the film adaptation of Annie Proulx’s story of the enduring but thwarted love between two cowboys, as best picture of the year.

Ang Lee secured the director nod for his work on the Focus Features release.

The voting split up the honors widely and strongly favored independent fare over major studio releases. The L.A. org repped the first group out of the gate with its year-end kudos; The National Board of Review usually claims that distinction, but its announcement has been delayed until today due to ballot snafus (Daily Variety, Dec. 8).

Philip Seymour Hoffman drew the actor kudos for his portrayal of the eponymous author in “Capote,” while Vera Farmiga took the actress prize for “Down to the Bone,” a Sundance Film Festival entry that received minimal theatrical release.

William Hurt drew supporting actor honors for his turn as a cultivated gangster in “A History of Violence.” Catherine Keener prevailed as supporting actress on the basis of her work in four films, “Capote,” “The 40-Year-Old Virgin,” “The Ballad of Jack & Rose” and “The Interpreter.”

Voting for the screenplay prize ended in a tie between Noah Baumbach’s “The Squid and the Whale” and Dan Futterman’s script for “Capote.”

The foreign film accolade went to Michael Haneke’s thriller “Cache” (Hidden).

Werner Herzog’s “Grizzly Man” snared documentary film honors, while the animated feature award went to “Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit.”

Nod for score went to Joe Hisaishi for the Japanese animated feature “Howl’s Moving Castle.” Robert Elswit’s black-and-white lensing of “Good Night, and Good Luck” drew cinematography honors, while the production design award went to William Chang Suk-Ping for the Hong Kong-Chinese “2046.”

The New Generation award was voted to actor Terrence Howard, who broke through this year in “Hustle & Flow.” Career achievement award, as previously announced, went to Richard Widmark.

With 32 LACA members present Saturday afternoon, voting ranged all over the map, as numerous films vied closely in all categories.

Among distribs, Sony Classics was the big winner with five victories (two in ties). Focus drew two nods by virtue of its big “Brokeback Mountain” wins, as did Universal, although both in ties.

Runners-up were as follows: picture, “A History of Violence”; director, David Cronenberg, “A History of Violence”; actor, Heath Ledger, “Brokeback Mountain”; actress, Judi Dench, “Mrs. Henderson Presents”; supporting actor, Frank Langella, “Good Night, and Good Luck”; supporting actress, Amy Adams, “Junebug”; score, “Tony Takitani,” Ryuichi Sakamoto; cinematography, “2046,” Christopher Doyle, Lai Yiu Fai, Kwan Tan Leung; production design, Jim Bissell, “Good Night, and Good Luck”; foreign-language film, “2046”; documentary, “Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room.”

Two special citations were voted, one to retiring L.A. Times film critic Kevin Thomas for his contribution to film culture in Los Angeles and one to Unseen Cinema, an unprecedented eight-disc collection of experimental avant-garde and commercial film curated and produced by David Shepard and Bruce Bosner, presented by Anthology Film Archives.

Awards will be presented at a dinner Jan. 17 at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Century City.

And the nominees are…

Awards will be presented at a dinner on Tuesday Jan. 17 at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Century City.

“Brokeback Mountain”

Ang Lee

“Capote,” Dan Futterman
“The Squid and the Whale,” Noah Baumbach

Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Capote”

Vera Farmiga, “Down to the Bone”

William Hurt, “A History of Violence”

Catherine Keener, “Capote,” “The 40-Year Old Virgin,” “The Ballad of Jack & Rose,” “The Interpreter”

“Howl’s Moving Castle,” composer Joe Hisaishi

“Good Night, And Good Luck.” Robert Elswit

“2046,” William Chang Suk-Ping

“Caché (Hidden),” Michael Haneke

“Grizzly Man,” Werner Herzog

“Wallace & Gromit in The Curse of the Were-Rabbit,” Nick Park and Christopher Box

Terrence Howard

“La Commune (Paris 1871),” Peter Watkins

Kevin Thomas for his contribution to film culture in Los Angeles
Unseen Cinema, an unprecedented eight disc collection of experimental avant garde and commercial film curated and produced by David Shepard and Bruce Bosner, presented by Anthology Film Archives

More Film

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content