Goldwyn prizes handed out

Carnick honored for 'Driving Doug'

The 50th annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards were held Tuesday at the Writers Guild Theater. The awards, which honor excellence in screenwriting, were announced by Samuel Goldwyn Foundation president, Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. and hosted by actor/director, Tony Goldwyn.

Michael Carnick, a theater/screenwriting student from UC San Diego, was awarded the $25,000 top writing honor for his screenplay “Who’s Driving Doug.,” the second prize of $10,000 went to UCLA screenwriting graduate student Shanee Edwards, for “Enchantress of Numbers;” the third prize of $8,000 went to Chris Kyle, a graduate student in screenwriting from UCLA for “The Ganders;” and honorable mentions of $5,000 and $2,000 to Laurel Minter, a UCLA screenwriting graduate student from UCLA for “The Route;” and David Ariniello, a UC Irvine Ph.D. student in English literature, for “River Champion.”

Winners were chosen out of over 100 submissions reigning from more than eight University of California campuses. Entries were judged on the basis of imagination, craft and emotional power by a panel formed by Pulitzer-winning author A. Scott Berg, CAA partner Robert Bookman and novelist, Jonathan Kellerman.

Previous award winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Carroll Ballard, Colin Higgins and Scott Rosenberg. Other Goldwyn winners have gone on to write and helm projects such as “Forrest Gump,” “Everybody Loves Raymond” and “Alias.”

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety