Acad picks producer credits for 3 pix

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has determined producer credits for picture Oscar nominees “The Aviator,” “Million Dollar Baby” and “Ray.”

As predicted (Daily Variety, Jan. 26), the producers’ branch executive committee has named Michael Mann and Graham King for “Aviator”; Clint Eastwood, Albert S. Ruddy and Tom Rosenberg for “Baby”; and Taylor Hackford, Stuart Benjamin and Howard Baldwin for “Ray.”

Those are the same individuals who had been named in Producers Guild nominations. On Oscar nom day, the Acad listed producer credits “to be determined,” but several top execs on the films said they expected the Acad to adhere to the same groupings as PGA.

Both voting organizations allow a maximum of three producers, but these films had four apiece.

No conflict occurred with the other two picture nominees, whose producers — Richard N. Gladstein and Nellie Bellflower (“Finding Neverland”) and Michael London (“Sideways”) — were announced Jan. 25.

The “Ray” team informed the Academy of its decision the following day, while nominees for “Aviator” and “Baby” were decided by the exec committee.

Mann and King were saluted by the Producers Guild with an “Aviator” win as best picture award.

Announcement officially makes Eastwood a triple Oscar nominee for “Baby” (picture, director and actor) and Hackford a double nominee for “Ray” (picture and director).

Producers who got onscreen credit but who were eliminated from noms include Sandy Climan and Charles Evans Jr. (“Aviator”); Paul Haggis (“Baby”) and Karen Baldwin (“Ray”).

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0