Roy Christopher takes top honors for last year's Oscars

HOLLYWOOD — Alex McDowell and his production team received the award for production design on a contemporary feature for “The Terminal” at the ninth annual Art Directors Guild awards, held Saturday night at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Taking home top honors for production design in a period or fantasy feature were Rich Heinrichs and his team for “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.”

Guild inducted production designers Wilfred Buckland, Richard Day, John DeCuir, Anton Grot, Boris Levin, William Cameron Menzies and Van Nest Polglase into its Hall of Fame and honored William J. Creber — Oscar nominee for “The Greatest Story Ever Told,” “The Poseidon Adventure” and “The Towering Inferno” — with the lifetime achievement award.

Quentin Tarantino presented director Zhang Yimou (“House of Flying Daggers,” “Hero,” “Raise the Red Lantern”) with the outstanding contribution to cinematic imagery award. Other honorees included Glenda Rovello of “Will & Grace” for multicamera production and Thomas A. Walsh and his team for “Desperate Housewives” in the single camera category. Herbert Pinter and his production team took home TV movie or miniseries kudos for “And Starring Pancho Villa as Himself,” while Lauryn LeClere won the production design, commercial award for his work for FEMA.

Roy Christopher received top honors in the production design, TV variety or awards show category for the “76th Annual Academy Awards.”

Cheryl Hines of “Curb Your Enthusiasm” hosted the ceremony. Debbie Allen, Sally Kellerman, Frank Capra Jr. and Kathryn Morris were among the presenters.

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0