Acad picks top student pix

AMPAS decides on finalists for filmmaker nods

HOLLYWOOD — The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has selected 29 student filmmakers as finalists for its 32nd annual Student Academy Awards.

Culled from 18 colleges and universities nationwide, the films are nommed in four categories: alternative, animation, documentary and narrative.

Five nominees for foreign-language film were announced last week.

Gold, silver and bronze medals (with cash prizes of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000, respectively) will be awarded in each category. Winners will participate in a week of industry-related and social activities leading up to the awards ceremony June 12.

The nominees are:


“Knock Knock,” Jaron Henrie-McCrea, Ball State U., Ind.

“Landslag,” Kyja Kristjansson-Nelson, U. of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

“This Is Not a Picture,” Joel T. Levin, New York U.

“Your Dark Hair Ishan,” Tala Hadid, Columbia U.


“9,” Shane Acker, U. of California, Los Angeles

“Cold War,” Gong Myung Lee and Brian Garrigan, School of Visual Arts, N.Y.

“Frog,” Christopher Conforti, School of Visual Arts

“Le vieil homme et les poissons,” David Bokser, Savannah College of Art and Design, Ga.

“Things That Go Bump in the Night,” Joshua G. Beveridge, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, Fla.

“To a Man With a Big Nose,” Cecilia Aranovich, Santa Monica College, Calif.

“Up,” Larry McMahan, Columbia College, Chicago

“Welcome to My Life,” Elizabeth Ito, California Institute of the Arts


“The Fizz,” Grant Greenberg, New York U.

“The Life of Kevin Carter,” Dan Krauss, U. of California, Berkeley

“Listen,” Kimby Caplan, Southern Methodist U.

“Music Palace,” Eric Lin, New York U.

“This Morning,” Lucy Mulloy, New York U.

“Unhitched,” Erin Hudson, Stanford U.


“Be Quiet,” Sameh Zoabi, Columbia U.

“Brother,” Nathan Butera, New York U.

“Charm,” Melissa Rossi, Florida State U. Film School

“Indio, USA,” Travis Peterson, American Film Institute

“Living in Technicolor,” Brian David Lazarte, U. of Cincinnati

“Piss Hat,” Mo Perkins, U. of California, Los Angeles

“Slip,” Andrew Kristin Grauman Kramp, Savannah College of Art and Design

“Stephen King’s The Road Virus Heads North,” Dave Brock, Ohio U. School of Film

“Victoria para Chino,” Cary Fukunaga, New York U.

“Wednesday Afternoon,” Alonso Mayo, American Film Institute

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety