Acad extends invites to 112

Invitee list includes Grey, Lynton, Forster

See list

For the second year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has released a list of artists and executives invited to join the org, with 112 individuals on this year’s list.

The org allows for an inflow of 30 members annually, after vacancies from deaths and retirements (to non-voting status) have been filled.

Even if all 112 accept, the actual number of voting members will shrink compared with 2004’s roster — the result of a decision to slow growth and be more selective, said Acad prexy Frank Pierson.

The invitees are in 19 categories, including execs Brad Grey and Michael Lynton; producers Avi Arad and Michael London; scribes Paul Haggis and Mike White; directors Alejandro Amenabar and Marc Forster; composer Jan A.P. Kaczmarek; production designers John Dexter and Anthony Pratt; and actors Gael Garcia Bernal, Jamie Foxx, Will Ferrell, Catalina Sandino Moreno and Ziyi Zhang.

New members will be initiated Sept. 21 at the Academy’s Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

The complete list:

Gael Garcia Bernal
Thomas Haden Church
Jennifer Coolidge
Will Ferrell
Jamie Foxx
Paul Giamatti
Catalina Sandino Moreno
Sophie Okonedo
Clive Owen
Charlotte Rampling
Jean Reno
Stellan Skarsgard
Imelda Staunton
Mykelti Williamson
Ziyi Zhang

Andrew Adamson
Kathy Altieri
Signe Baumane
Baker Bloodworth
John Hughes
Scott F. Johnston
Chris Landreth
Tim Miller

Ian Bryce
Fred Chandler
Charles Newirth

Curtis Clark
Jim Denault
Robert Fraisse
Dick Pope
Tami Reiker
Lisa Rinzler
Jerry Zielinski

Alejandro Amenábar
Marc Forster
Oliver Hirschbiegel
Andy Tennant
Joel Zwick

Nick Broomfield
Peter Davis
Kirby Dick
Kathleen Glynn
Robert Greenwald
Stacy Peralta

Paul G. Allen
Doug Belgrad
Robert Berney
Ann Daly
Daniel Ferleger
Camela Galano
Brad Grey
Steven Jobs
Michael Lynton
Kevin McCormick
Bruce Tobey
Matt Tolmach

Film Editors
Jim Miller
Julie Monroe
Debra Neil-Fisher
Nancy Richardson
Kevin Tent

Live Action Short Films
Andrea Arnold
Andrew J. Sacks
Nacho Vigalondo

John Blake
J. Roy Helland

Bruno Coulais
Jan A.P. Kaczmarek
Mark Mothersbaugh
Edward Shearmur

Public Relations
Breena Camden
Laura Carrillo
Susan J. Kroll
Michael Moses
Dennis Rice
Steven Mark Siskind

Scientific and Technical
Glenn Kennel

Set Decorators
John Bush
Jim Erickson
Debra Schutt

David Arnold
Steve Cantamessa
Andrew Koyama
Hugh Waddell
Michael Wilhoit
David Mark Young

Visual Effects
Joseph B. Bauer
Nicholas Brooks
Blair Clark
Mark Forker
Robert Grasmere
Matthew R. Gratzner
Roger John Guyett
Christophe Hery
David S. Williams, Jr.

Paul Haggis
David Magee
Keir Pearson
Jose Rivera
David N. Weiss
Mike White

Visual Effects
Joseph B. Bauer
Nicholas Brooks
Blair Clark
Mark Forker
Robert Grasmere
Matthew R. Gratzner
Roger John Guyett
Christophe Hery
David S. Williams, Jr.

Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 0

Leave a Reply

No Comments

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Film News from Variety